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Title:  Smoke Detector Requirements for Multi-Family Dwelling Units 
Number:  FPG-06 Effective Date: 01/01/2023  Revised Date: 03/01/2023 
Code References: California Fire Code (CFC), California Code of Regulations (CCR) 
Title 19, Merced Municipal Code (MMC), California Health & Safety Code 
Note: This guideline is a summary of Fire Department clarifications and interpretations 
of City and State Codes and nationally recognized standards in accordance with the 
currently adopted edition of the Fire Code.  Information contained herein applies to 
typical circumstances and may not address all situations. 

Scope
This Guideline has been developed to assist owners and managers with state and local 
requirements for smoke detectors in existing multi-family dwelling units. .  

Codes and Guidelines 
This guideline shall apply to all multi-residential buildings with sleeping areas in accordance with 
the California Health & Safety Code, California Fire Code, California Code of Regulations, 
Title19 and the Merced Municipal Code.   

Specific Requirements 

1. Occupancy requirements
California State law requires the following dwelling occupancies to have smoke detectors
(which are listed by the State Fire Marshal) installed and maintained in accordance with
the State Fire Marshal’s regulations.

a. Duplexes

b. Lodging houses

c. Apartment complexes

d. Hotels

e. Motels

f. Condominiums

g. Stock cooperatives

h. Time share projects

i. Dwelling units of multiple-unit dwelling complexes



Merced City Fire Department Fire Prevention and 
Community Services Division 

FIRE PREVENTION GUIDELINE 

FPG # F-06 – Smoke Detector Requirements for Multi-Family Dwelling Units 
Page 2 

2. Regulations
Health & Safety Code Section 13113.7 requires the installation and maintenance of
smoke detectors.  Failure to comply with this section is a crime, an infraction,
punishable by a maximum fine of $200.00 for each offense (Health and Safety
Code Section 13113.7(e).

3. Responsibility For Installation and Maintenance

a. The owner of each dwelling unit shall supply and install smoke detectors
in the manner set forth in the manufacturer’s instructions, as approved by
the State Fire Marshal’s regulations. Additionally, in the case of apartment
units and other multi-family dwelling complexes, a smoke detector shall
be installed in all common interior stairwells and enclosed corridors of
hallways of apartment and other multiple dwelling complexes (In most
cases the spacing between detectors in hallways or corridors shall not
exceed 30 feet)

b. The owner shall also be responsible for testing and maintaining the
detectors in hotels, motels, lodging houses and common stairwells of
apartment complexes and other multiple dwelling complexes.

c. An owner or owner’s agent may enter any dwelling unit, efficiency
dwelling unit, guest room, and suite owned by the owner for the purpose
of installing, repairing, testing, and maintaining single station smoke
detectors.

d. The smoke detector shall be operable at the time the tenant takes
possession. The tenant shall be responsible for notifying the manager or
owner if the smoke detector becomes inoperable.  It is recommended that
apartment owners have a smoke detector maintenance agreement signed
by the tenant ensuring they understand their requirements.

4. Smoke Detector-“Notice of Intent” Form
Due to the limitation of access to individual dwelling units in apartment complexes the
City of Merced Fire Department requires that apartment owners submit a completed
Merced Fire Department “Notice of Intent” form. See page 3
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“Notice of Intent” 

Name of Complex (e.g. Anderson Apartments): 

Address of Dwelling Units (e.g. 123 ABC Street, Units 1-10, 50-70): 

Owner Name: 

Address: 

City: State: ZIP Code: 

Date of Birth: Phone No.: Alternate Phone No.: 

Certification 
By signing below, I am certifying that approved and operational smoke detecting devices as required by 
Health and Safety Code Section 13113.7 have been installed in the premises and are being maintained. 
Failure to comply with this section is a crime, an infraction, and punishable by a maximum fine of 
$200.00 for each offense (Health and Safety Code Section 13113.7(e).  If you need further 
clarification of these requirements, please contact the Merced City Fire Department at (209) 385-6830.   

Submittal of this form and installation of smoke detectors are required by Health & Safety Code Section 
13113.7. 

You may mail or take this form to (Original signatures are required, please do not return this form via fax): 

Merced City Fire Department 
Attn:  Fire Prevention Bureau 
99 East 16th Street 
Merced, CA  95340 

Signatures 

*Signature of Owner:

*Property manager signatures are not acceptable.  If a
corporation/company/association – this form must be signed by a
person with the legal authority to sign for the entity.

Date: 

Printed Name of Owner and Title: 
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